m Stay away from curbs and edge of the road. Students should not sit within 10’ of the road.
Sitting reduces motorist visibility. of students.

m Students should remember ‘5 AND 5’:
Stay 5 giant steps away from the street while waiting
and 5 giant steps away from the bus when boarding and exiting

- ® Avoid distractions while driving, walking and cycling.
Students should be alert and aware of their surroundings while waking to and from the bus stop.

m Motorists - SLOW DOWN! Speed is the cause of 32% of all fatal crashes.
Pay close attention to the lower speeds limits in school zones.
Also, watch for and obey signals from school crossing guards.

“Florida school buses carry precious cargo... our children.
Motorists should always be alert and drive with caution around school buses and within school zones.”
(Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles - School Bus Safety)




PENALTIES FOR
PASSING A STOPPED
SCHOOL BUS MAY INCLUDE:

= Moving violation subject to citation

® Requirement to complete a basic
Driver Improvement Course

= Four points on your license

= Minimum fine of $165, if you pass
on the side where children exit $265

TWO LANE: Vehicles traveling in both directions MUST stop.
MULTI-LANE: Vehicles traveling in both directions MUST stop.

DIVIDED HIGHWAY: Vehicles behind bus MUST stop.
Vehicles traveling in the opposite direction must proceed with caution.



